Words of Wisdom: Peace

1 Aug

This week, I’m writing a series of posts on inspiration – those words of wisdom that motivate, energize, and refocus us in the everyday things.  I hope they inspire you to carry on, dream bigger, and be the very best you can be.
- Ashley


Image from Oh you pretty things via Pinterest

Do you ever feel like this?  Sometimes I find myself so caught up in the people, noises, or problems that are around me that I just yearn for peace.  What does this look like in my head?  A house on the beach – all to myself!  No people, no car alarms, no screaming children, no problems.  Space to think.  Silence to listen to my heart and head.  Solitude to reflect.  Do you ever feel like this?

This quote really spoke to me when I came across it a few weeks ago.  Peace is not a physical place where we can escape.  It does not lack noise, trouble, or hard work.  It’s finding that internal strength – the calm in our hearts – that is true peace.  “For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace” (1 Corinthians 14:33).  Peace is there all the time – it’s a part of us.  We just have to let it be.  We have to let the peace of God rule in our hearts (Colossians 3:15).

The result?  An escape to a quiet beach house any time of the day or night.  More so, it’s the ability to remain calm in the midst of chaos, gracious in times of strife, peaceful in situations of conflict.  “And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:7).

Be calm in your heart.

9 Responses to “Words of Wisdom: Peace”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Evermore and Evermore « Ashley Morgan Arts - December 9, 2011

    [...] an overwhelming sense of peace this brings to my heart tonight as I write.  Wishing you this type of peace this season. Share [...]

  2. Life Lately « Ashley Morgan Arts - November 7, 2011

    [...] He, trying to rest and recuperate; me, trying to keep up with teaching, meetings, cooking, phone calls, etc.  Sometimes, it feels like I’m on a roller coaster.  Sometimes, I think I need that to remind me – life.is.short.  Live while you can.  Never take anything for granted.  Enjoy the little things.  Dwell in the moment.  As I sat next to that sweet, sleeping man, I prayed that on days like these, I could be strong enough for both of us.  “Cast your cares upon the Lord for He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7.  In the midst of phone calls to the insurance company, doctor’s offices, and the hospital, I prayed that I could learn how to care for him – in sickness and in health.  I prayed that I could be the shoulder he leans on in times of weakness.  Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous be shaken.” Psalm 55:22.  I prayed for a peaceful heart. [...]

  3. Thankfulness « Ashley Morgan Arts - October 28, 2011

    [...] it might be the act of listing their everyday blessings.  For me, it’s taking a moment to be still in the midst of very busy schedule, be peaceful in the midst of conflict, and be [...]

  4. Possibility « Ashley Morgan Arts - August 24, 2011

    [...] completely exposed.  It’s learning to let go of situations that are beyond my control and keeping calm in my heart.  It’s setting work aside, turning off all of the creative ideas in my brain, and [...]

  5. Be Still « Ashley Morgan Arts - August 11, 2011

    [...] in circles doesn’t get you anywhere.  Take five minutes today.  Be still.  Think.  Be calm.  Breathe.  The bench is waiting.  Oh, and as you make your way, don’t forget to stop and [...]

  6. Words of Wisdom: Belief « Ashley Morgan Arts - August 5, 2011

    [...] Previously: Happiness Acceptance Grace Peace [...]

  7. Words of Wisdom: Happiness « Ashley Morgan Arts - August 5, 2011

    [...] Previously: Acceptance Grace Peace [...]

  8. Words of Wisdom: Acceptance « Ashley Morgan Arts - August 3, 2011

    [...] the inevitable and truly prepare for the imminent future.  It requires not only acceptance but a peaceful heart and a huge amount of inner strength.  How do you protect yourself?  How do you respond?  [...]

  9. Words of Wisdom: Grace « Ashley Morgan Arts - August 2, 2011

    [...] Previously: Peace [...]

Leave a Note!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

