The Wedding Veil

30 Jun


The dress decision was tough (read more of the saga here) but for me, the veil was even more difficult.  I’m one of those people that believes there should be one type of veil that just “goes” with the style of dress you choose.  Alas, there is no such fashion rule.  Really, any type and length of veil can be paired with any dress.  It’s complicated like that.  So, I procrastinated.  I hemmed and hawed.  And then I finally emailed my friend Carolyn at Embellish Veils & Accessories.  “Here’s a picture of my dress,” I said.  “Tell me what to wear with it!”  Carolyn wrote a very sweet note back with a few suggestions on what might look best.

Being the visual girl that I am, I knew I needed picture inspiration before I could make a definite decision.  I didn’t have to look far – Carolyn had just featured a gorgeous wedding on her blog featuring one of her handmade veils!  (See above).  This is a cathedral-length veil (as formal as they come), acting as a train with this dress.


This is more of an elbow-length veil – I especially like the soft edges and the way it’s tucked into her chic bun.


Lastly, I wanted to find an in-between length (they call it “fingertip”).  This has a very soft look to it, I think.  And again, I really like those rounded edges.


Want to know which style I picked?  You’ll have to wait ’til October!  What would you choose?

1. Charlotte Justine via Embellish Veils & Accessories, 2.  He and She Photography via Green Wedding Shoes, 3. Lisa Lefkowitz via Style Me Pretty

3 Responses to “The Wedding Veil”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Veil « Ashley Morgan Arts - December 15, 2011

    [...] my inspiration post from over the summer?  Take a look at a few of my favorite veil styles here.  In the end, I decided to go with the elbow-length veil in ivory with raw, rounded edges from [...]

  2. The Veil « Ashley Morgan Arts - December 15, 2011

    [...] my inspiration post from over the summer?  Take a look at a few of my favorite veil styles here.  In the end, I decided to go with the elbow-length veil in ivory with raw, rounded edges from [...]

  3. Letting Go « Ashley Morgan Arts - September 1, 2011

    [...] the smiles, the laughter, the hand-holding.  I want to relish the day in my beautiful dress and veil, beside my handsome beau in his black tux and bow tie, surrounded by sweet friends and family that [...]

Leave a Note!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

